Cecilia’s 2015 Resolutions

Dear Ryan,

I on the other hand, ALWAYS make a very long list of New Year’s resolutions. Whether or not I actually stick with them… let’s just say I still haven’t become the 1st woman president. That one came off of my list of resolutions from ’08 maybe? The point is I always seem to pick out the most unreasonable goals for myself. And they always seem to be decided upon around December 31st.

The only goal I actually stuck with this last year was to stop drinking sodas, and I have not touched one since the end of this summer when I had my conversion from chocolate, milkshakes, and bread everyday to a healthy lifestyle. Before then, I had one every blue moon…

But 2015, like you said for yourself, is going to be different. I spent time last week thinking about what I really wanted to change in my life. I want to be able to say at the end of 2015 that I achieved something more than giving up soda. I want the choices I make this year to matter next year (2016). So, I came up with a list of achievable resolutions, not focusing on simple goals for myself to achieve, but goals to better myself and the people around me, although I did stick a few “fun” ones in there…

cf25b89bc7b540e39719ad1a3d5d78c0


  1. STOP WORRYING SO MUCH

Towards the end of the year, I found myself worrying about every little detail. If I’m going to have enough time for this, if it’s too late to do this, and especially, worrying about what I eat (eggnog and my Grandma’s Gingerbread Cake always seem to get the best of me). I want to be less worried when things don’t go as planned. I want to not worry about things that I shouldn’t be worrying about yet.

  1. GET HEALTHY

Every year, I think almost everyone’s list of goals includes to “lose weight” or “get skinny”, I know mine did at one point, and I’ve seen the people around me have these goals. But they aren’t reasonable when you tell yourself you want to “get skinny”. So this year, I don’t want to worry about my weight or the scale (I have the rest of my life to do that!), I just want to get myself into the best health for my body. I want to be healthy.

  1. SLOW DOWN

This one goes with not worrying as much, I want to enjoy every minute I have, and not look forward to the future (as much). I want to live in the present and enjoy that moment. I also want to slow down when I eat.

  1. MAKE A NEW RECIPE EACH WEEK

My mom and I were talking about our goals for the New Year this morning during a long walk I forced her to go on. We both want to try out a new recipe at least once a week. I’ve become addicted to Pinterest, it’s a problem, but there are so many recipes I want to try just from there. Most healthy, the occasional cheat meal. The first one I want to tackle:

THE LIFE-CHANGING LOAF OF BREAD- http://www.mynewroots.org/site/2013/02/the-life-changing-loaf-of-bread/

(MY NEW ROOTS)

bf73d774ebe4f918a4914fa355fb10c3

 

Here’s to another month of forgetting to write 2015 on every paper.

-Cecilia

 

Leave a Reply

